The Devils Rugby Cup, sponsored by the Desert Southwest Athletic Club (DSWAC), successfully hosted 26 rugby teams from Arizona, California, New Mexico and Nevada on December 7th at the Scottsdale Soccer Complex.Rugby competition was held in the Old Boy’s, Senior Men’s and Senior Women’s divisions. There was also a Arizona Youth Rugby Clinic that worked with over 180 boys and girls.The Tempe Rugby Club went 10-0 on the day winning the Cup in both the Senior Men’s and Senior Women’s bracket of the open division.

Open Division (Sr. Men’s) Finals: Tempe Rugby Club 22 v. Red Mountain RFC 21
After a tough match between the Cup finalists, Adrian Taefu converted a penalty kick as time expired to put Tempe up by one point and give them win and the inaugural Devils Rugby Cup championship.

Open Division (Sr. Women’s) Finals: Tempe Rugby Club 26 v. Dirty’s Merkins 19
The Devil’s Rugby Cup, which is scheduled the first weekend of December each year, is set for December 6-7, 2014.  Visit for more information.


2013 – Devil’s Rugby Cup (December 7-8)
Division Club Result
Open – Sr. Men’s Tempe Rugby Club Cup Champions
Red Mountain RFC 2nd Place
Open – Sr. Women’s Tempe Rugby Club Cup Champions
Dirty Merkins 2nd Place

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.